Ashtalakshmi Abhishekam

For Puja Dates and Timings, Please click on the Link Below

Ashta Lakshmi, also spelled as Ashtalakshmi (Sanskrit: अष्टलक्ष्मी, Aṣṭalakṣmī, lit. “eight Lakshmis”), are a group of eight Hindu goddesses, secondary manifestations of Shri-Lakshmi, the Hindu goddess of wealth, who preside over eight sources of wealth: “Wealth” in the context of Ashta-Lakshmi means prosperity, good health, knowledge, strength, progeny, and power.The Ashta Lakshmi are always depicted and worshipped in a group in temples.

The prayer Shri Ashta Lakshmi Stotram lists the Ashta Lakshmi as follows:

Adi Lakshmi (Sanskrit: आदि लक्ष्मी, Ādi Lakṣmī, “Primeval Lakshmi”) or Maha Lakshmi (Sanskrit: महा लक्ष्मी, Mahā Lakṣmī, “Great Lakshmi”) : an ancient form of Lakshmi and incarnation of Lakshmi as daughter of the sage Bhrigu.
Dhana Lakshmi (Sanskrit: धन लक्ष्मी, Dhana Lakṣmī, “Money Lakshmi”): for money and gold
Dhanya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: धान्य लक्ष्मी, Dhǎnya Lakṣmī, “Lakshmi as goddess of grain”): Giver of agricultural wealth.
Gaja Lakshmi (Sanskrit: गज लक्ष्मी, Gaja Lakṣmī, “Elephant Lakshmi”): Giver of animal wealth, like cattle and elephants.Swami Chidananda interprets Gaja Lakshmi as giver of power of royalty.According to Hindu mythology, Gaja Lakshmi brought back the wealth lost by Indra (king of demi-gods) from the ocean. Vasudha Narayanan intrepret the name as “one who is worshipped by elephants”.

Santana Lakshmi (Sanskrit: सन्तान लक्ष्मी, Santāna Lakṣmī, “Progeny Lakshmi”): Bestower of offspring
Veera Lakshmi (Sanskrit: वीर लक्ष्मी, vīra lakṣmī, “Valourous Lakshmi”) or Dhairya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: धैर्य लक्ष्मी, Dhairya Lakṣmī, “Courage Lakshmi”): Bestower of valour in battles and courage and strength for overcoming difficulties in life.

Vijaya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: विजय लक्ष्मी, Vijaya Lakṣmī, “Victorious Lakshmi”) or Jaya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: जय लक्ष्मी, Jaya Lakṣmī, “Victorious Lakshmi”): Giver of victory, not only in battles but also in conquering hurdles in order to beget success.

Vidya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: विद्या लक्ष्मी, Vidyā Lakṣmī, “Knowledge Lakshmi”): the bestower of knowledge of arts and sciences

In some Ashta Lakshmi lists, other forms of Lakshmi are included:

Aishwarya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: ऎश्वर्य लक्ष्मी, “Prosperity Lakshmi”) : Goddess of riches

Saubhagya (Sanskrit: सौभग्या, “Giver of good Fortune”) : Giver of prosperity in general.

Rajya Lakshmi (Sanskrit: राज्य लक्ष्मी, Rājya Lakṣmī, “Royal Lakshmi”): “She who blesses rulers (with secular power)”

Vara Lakshmi (Sanskrit: वर लक्ष्मी, Vara Lakṣmī, “Boon Lakshmi”): “The lady who bestows Beautiful Boons”.